Parlez vous français?

Another week of sailing – excellent!! Very unfortunately for him the other watch leader flew home early, so I was asked to stay on for an extra voyage. Suits me! Anyway, this week after the obligatory trip to Nelson’s Dockyard, we struck out south to the French islands. Guadeloupe was the first stop, a town at the northern end of the island called Deshaies. It’s beautiful, but my camera’s broken so I can’t show you. However Chris, the first mate, and I walked up the river Deshaies, taking a couple of snaps on the way.

20140117-180526.jpg

The afternoon was very good, a pleasant and sunny motor sail down to Pigeon island (Another one, the settlers weren’t very original when it came to naming things). This little gem provides some of the best diving and snorkelling there is. The Jaques Cousteau national park is beautiful and the coral reefs around the island are full of amazing fish. A truly great spot. There is a superstition that if you touch the head o the submerged statue of Jaques you will have good diving for he rest of your life. I couldn’t find him…

We’ve sailed down to Les Iles De Saints, which is where you find me now, but in the spirit of keeping things short and sweet, I’m going to leave it here for now. It might also have something to do with the rest of the crew waiting for a lift back to the boat.

Leave a comment